Day 11/S9 – Serpentine Chalet to Ormiston Gorge

Today we completed the longest and toughest section on the trail! About 32 km in total when we include the extra distance to get to the trail head and to the spot where we met Jedda at the end for our drive back to camp.

We had brekky at 3.30 for a 4am start in the dark!

We walked for three hours before sunrise using headlamps. We stuck together as we scrambled through rocks traversing pretty rough terrain.

Then the trail followed a creek bed and entered open country, before crossing three saddles on the way to Waterfall Gorge.

After enjoying a break in the quiet of the gorge we follow a steep zig-zag path out of it that takes us to the summit – The Lookout – at an altitude of 1088 metres. A magnificent panoramic vista opens up in front of us with stunning views of all the West MacDonnell Ranges!

We meandered through long valleys and up onto the high ridgelines opposite Mt Giles offering magnificent views west towards Mt Sonder – our final destination! It looks so close now.

We reached the summit before 9am – early but by then we had walked for 5 hours already.

The ascent was difficult, and the descent was not any easier! My feet hurt badly from being bashed by the hardness and sharpness of the endless, unrelenting, rocky terrain. And the rocks were often loose and slippery, demanding continuous focus and concentration.

After lunch, I started to struggle. Was often lagging behind the group. Matt mostly kept me company at the back and we would catch up with the group every few kilometers or so.

The ascents and descents seemed to never end. Especially later in the afternoon when we were all tired. I ended up developing a blister under the ball of my feet, something that had never happened to me before.

At some point I felt exhausted and a bit teary, wondering if we’d make it back to camp before dark. I didn’t want to be the one holding everyone back.

In the end, we did make it back before dark. The group noticed my struggle and everyone was very supportive. At my last catch up with the group before the end, I was met with clapping, the offer of a snack, a nice rock to sit on, and kind words of encouragement. Quite moving.

Matt then suggested that I walked at the front of the group for the last stretch. I accepted the offer. He was just behind me and the group followed us. Suddenly, completing the walk didn’t feel so hard anymore. Having a softer sandy stretch at the end did help!

When we arrived at our new campsite on the sandy banks of the Finke River, we found out that Alison, with Bev’s help, had already set up the tents for us. Nice surprise.

Finke River was a lovely place. Apparently we got the best camping spot available ‘thanks to Riley’, another guide friendly with our guides, who ‘save’ it for us.

It’s now 9.15pm. Quite late to be still awake here, especially on a day I got up at 2.45am! I’m ready to try and get some well deserved sleep. Hopefully my feet will stop throbbing before too long and I’ll be ready for another walking day tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Australia. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 11/S9 – Serpentine Chalet to Ormiston Gorge

  1. Amazing effort Val, that blister sounded awful. Congratulations on finishing that longest stretch.

  2. Kelvin says:

    Wow. It seems very very challenging Val.
    I admire you for doing something i can not imagine volunteering for!

Leave a comment